NEADS National Student Awards Program

The NEADS National Student Awards Program offers several awards to Canadian post-secondary students with disabilities.

Amount: Varies (see below)

Number Available: Varies (see below)

Deadline: May 31st 2023, 5PM PT

The NEADS National Student Awards Program is offered to encourage full access to post-secondary education for persons with disabilities, who often have greater barriers to participation in higher education, as well as extra costs because of their disabilities.

Students must currently be registered in and continuing at post-secondary institution and provide documented proof of registration as part of the application and on receipt of the award. These awards provide funding to students in all fields of study and are the only programs of their kind in the country that recognize the academic and community achievements of post-secondary students with disabilities.


Applicants must:

  • be Canadian citizens or permanent residents of Canada
  • have a permanent disability
    • for the purpose of these awards, a permanent disability is a permanent functional limitation which affects the ability of the student to participate fully in post-secondary education
  • be currently enrolled in a full-time program of study at an accredited Canadian post-secondary college or university
    • full-time status is at least 40% of a full course load
    • high school students starting post-secondary studies in September 2023 must be accepted to a post-secondary institution at the time of the application
  • demonstrate the following:
    • self-advocacy
    • strong commitment to academia through study, research, and innovation
    • exemplary record of volunteerism and/or employment and/or involvement in on campus activities
    • potential to be an outstanding participant in the community
    • clearly-defined career goals or aspirations

Previous recipients of NEADS Student Awards may not reapply. Recipients of the Accessibility Resilience Program grant can apply.

How to Apply

Apply online using the NEADS Student Awards Program application, which can be found through the NEADS National Student Awards Program webpage. Applications cannot be modified after they are submitted. Once you finish your application a receipt of completion will be sent to your email.

Applications will include:

  • a Good Academic Standing verification form – these may be filled out by professionals such as guidance counsellors, principals, registrar department staff, program coordinators, academic advisors, learning strategists, disability advisors
  • proof of enrollment – either a proof of enrolment letter from your school’s registrars office OR an acceptance letter
  • a reference – an academic or a community reference who can speak to your academic performance, volunteerism, extra-curricular activities or employment history
    • your reference cannot be a family member, friend, spouse, or colleague
    • when you click submit at the end of your application, your reference will be sent an automated email containing a reference form
    • if it appears that the form was not received, have your reference check their spam or junk folder
    • if a copy of the form was not received, email us at to have another copy sent

Applicants are not required to provide proof of disability unless selected for an award.

Electronic files are accepted in the following formats: Microsoft Word (DOC), (DOCX) and Adobe Acrobat (PDF).

Applicants are invited to submit their application in the official language of their choice (English or French). Documents are reviewed by bilingual staff for completeness.

Recipients will be notified in the latter half of the Fall 2023 semester or early in the winter 2024 semester. Due to the volume of applications received, only those selected to receive an award will be contacted. Students will be given 2 weeks to acknowledge their congratulatory email and submit required documentation. If no response is received from the student, NEADS staff will follow up once via phone. If a response is still not received for a period of 1 week following the phone call, the award will be offered to another student.

The awards are paid directly to the post-secondary institution (in the students accounts) that the recipients are attending to offset the cost of tuition fees.

Types of Awards

Awards available:

  • AMI Robert Pearson Memorial Scholarship (2 at $5,000)
  • Canada Post Award (1 at $10,000)
  • Connor Clark & Lunn Financial Group Scholarship (1 at $5000)
  • Katelyn Mitchell Memorial Scholarship for the Visually Impaired (1 at $1,000)
  • NEADS Christine Nieder Memorial Award (1 at $1,000)
  • NEADS Holly Bartlett Memorial Award (1 at $1,000)
  • NEADS National Student Awards ($3,000 each, number available varies each year)

Unless indicated otherwise, you will be considered for all awards. You can not apply for a specific award type.

To be considered for the Katelynn Mitchell Memorial Scholarship for the Visually Impaired, you must identify that you are blind/visually impaired/deaf blind through the disability type question on the self-declaration form.

To be considered for the AMI scholarship, answer the AMI specific application question in your application.

Contact Information

For any other inquiries pertaining to the application process please contact the financial assistance programs team at:

See Also


See other national scholarships // See other scholarships open to all disabilities

Last Updated: 2023-06-13